A new journey… {nourishing traditions}

Warning: this is my first of many, many post about food. 🙂 I am very interested in Traditional FoodReal FoodRaw Food, etc. & I love discussing anything related to food with other people. In this first post, I would like to share the background info & history of my family’s diet & why we are embarking on this new journey…

{My Foodie Timeline & History}

  • August 2005 – March 2008, my husband & I ate a SAD. We rarely thought or talked about food at all. We shopped at Stater Bros, Trader Joe’s (mostly from the frozen section), & Albertson’s & ate whatever was quick & easy.
  • March 2008 – November 2009, after my son was born, I began exploring & experimenting with organic produce, grinding my own grain/flour, green smoothies, homemade baked goods, homemade granola & cereal, coconut oil & olive oil, & rapadura & other natural sweeteners. We avoided our family’s “evil 6”: hydrogenated oil, high fructose corn syrup, artificial colors & flavors, refined flour & refined sugar. We shopped at Henry’s & Trader Joe’s (no frozen section anymore!).
  • November 2009 – November 2010, we moved into my parents’ home in order to transition to a one income family (yay! & thank you Jesus!) & we switched back to eating a (mostly) SAD. I had my daughter during that time, so we were now a family of four.
  • November 2010 – April 2011, we ate the way we did before moving in with my parents, but also started eating a lot of dried beans, almost all organic produce, making our own chicken stock, & we gave away our microwave. I shopped at Trader Joe’s (dairy products, bread, nuts, snack foods, etc) & Henry’s (produce & meat). Around Christmas, my husband & I began noticing that we had indigestion nearly every night after dinner & I noticed that I also had indigestion after lunch & breakfast as well. We were always tired & never felt particularly energetic, even after eating a tasty meal, waking in the morning, etc. Our kids were getting more & more dependent on snack foods & were unwilling to try new things. I knew we needed a change. A big change. Thanks to my friend Katie leading the way, I began researching raw food. I watched the documentary Food Matters on Netflix & checked out 10 or so books from the library about raw food. I read about the GAPS diet on Keeper of the Home awhile back, but Katie’s recent interest sparked my memory of it. My husband & I went to a workshop at my chiropractor’s office about Leaky Gut Syndrome, which was very helpful & informative, & confirmed with us that we needed to make a serious change in our diet for the health of our entire family. While I felt GAPS would be a great solution for us (& our pick eaters), I started to feel very overwhelmed even considering going on the diet & having to limit our foods so extensively. I spoke with another friend (& fellow foodie) & she encouraged me to look into Traditional Foods before starting a larger commitment diet. I purchased Nourishing Traditions  by Sally Fallon & loved it! The whole first portion of Nourishing Traditions explains the how’s & why’s of eating traditional foods & everything I read rang true with me. I felt like I could handle the extra preparation time needed & we could maybe work the raw dairy, pastured chicken & eggs, & grass fed beef into our budget. Maybe. I took the time to menu plan for two weeks of meals & snacks using only the recipes from Nourishing Traditions. I then looked up all the prices for the food I would need, from the sources I could find locally (or semi-locally). I added everything up. The monthly total was three times our current monthly grocery bill! Sigh. After praying for wisdom & discussing things with my husband, we set specific food priories for our family based on our slightly revised budget (we increased it by $50). Then I re-did my menu plans using frugal recipes I found online, but  they still follow Nourishing Traditions guidelines, & a kept a few recipes from Nourishing Traditions as well. Thankfully, I think my plans will work with our budget. I think. {Side note: I will be posting more specifics about my menu plan, master grocery list, & food resources in the future.}
  • May 2011 – We are beginning a new journey… eating lacto-fermented veggies & condiments, homemade cultured dairy (buttermilk, kefir, yogurt, whey, cream cheese), grass fed beef (1lb a week), pastured chicken (one per month) & eggs, soaked &/or sprouted grains & legumes, & drinking nonhomogenized milk, raw milk & water kefir beverages. We will be shopping at Azure Standard (grains, legumes, produce, cheese, beef, eggs, oil & vinegar, nuts, dried fruit, etc), Trader Joe’s (some produce, butter), & Mother’s Market (milk, cream, & chicken).

So that’s the timeline so far & I can’t wait to share how our first month goes!

If you have any tips or tricks regarding changing your family’s diet, I’d love to hear from you!

Glad you (& I) made it through this very lengthly post. Phew.

Much, much more to come… 😉

P.S. I recently became an Amazon Associate, so I can get credit for anything you buy on Amazon after clinking a link below.

{Products mentioned in this post…}

Leave a Reply

