Bulgur & Kefir Pancakes {a tutorial & recipe}

I had a little tiny problem. I forgot to soak our breakfast. Every. Single. Day. Last. Week. In a traditional food kitchen, when breakfast is not soaked, it is quite difficult to just “throw something together” or “pour a bowl of cereal”. Plus, I was just about out of eggs so I preferred not to make eggs & toast everyday, since our next delivery of eggs wasn’t for another week. Sooooo, my solution was to create a new recipe for pancakes. Since I do not use un-soaked flour, I decided to use bulgur-kishk flour. Bulgur wheat is the same as cracked wheat except it cooks faster. It has been par-boiled, dried & cracked. It has the same nutritive value as whole wheat. I soaked my bulgur wheat with yogurt for 24 hours, dehydrated it, & stored it in the fridge in an airtight container. I use it for our “Kishk Granola”, which is extremely crunchy unless soaked overnight in yogurt or milk. I thought it might work to grind it into “flour” & use it in non-soaked recipes & I thought right! It worked wonderfully & made “the best pancakes I ever had, according to my three-year-old, who (on his own) cleared the table after eating, so I know he was truly happy. 🙂

Here’s the tutorial & recipe…

Bulgur & Kefir Pancakes (makes about 12 pancakes)

{Ingredients}

1 C ground bulgur or “kishk”, sifted

3/4 t baking soda

1/4 t salt

1 C kefir

1/2 t vanilla extract

1 egg

1/4 C milk, optional, if batter is too thick

coconut oil, for greasing pan or griddle

grade B maple syrup, whipped cream, fresh fruit, etc. for toppings

{Instructions}

1. Preheat griddle or pan to medium-high heat.

2. Combine all dry ingredients in a small bowl.

3. Combine all wet (minus milk) ingredients in a “batter bowl” or large measuring cup with pour spout.

4. Add dry ingredients to wet ingredients, mix lightly. If more liquid is needed, add 1/4 C milk.

5. Lightly grease the griddle or pan with coconut oil.

6. Pour batter onto hot griddle or pan. When bubbles cover the surface of the pancake, flip.

7. When both sides of pancake are light brown, place pancake onto plate.

8. If desired, brush on a little coconut oil on the pancakes.

9. Drizzle with maple syrup or any other yummy pancake toppings.

10. Serve warm & try not to over-eat. These babies are good! 🙂

{this post was transferred from my old blog, http://www.this-precious-life.com}

Leave a Reply

