May Update & Our Weekly Menu {nourishing traditions} #4

A Quick Update…

We are entering month two of our  new journey & I am feeling pretty good about everything so far. Hopefully my grocery budget will be a little more manageable this month, as I’ve gotten a better idea of what we need to buy each week & how much of each item I need to use for my recipes. Health-wise, I have definitely noticed a reduction in my nightly tummy rumbles & I actually lost 2 pounds this month. Losing weight is certainly not the goal for me, but it’s a nice little perk. 😉 O has completely transitioned into eating all NT type foods & has had quite an increase in her appetite, yay! H, on the other hand, is still resisting pretty much at every meal. I have made a few compromises (buying organic PB for him, while the rest of us eat my flop homemade PB, for example) & am just praying that his palate will adjust over time. One thing I am very grateful for is that he loves raw milk so I know he is getting lots of good nutrients from drinking that. My hubby hasn’t noticed any major changes so far, but he has been loving (mostly) everything I have made so far & has been so encouraging when I get stressed out over a recipe flop. He has commented a couple of times on the amount of extra time I’m in the kitchen, so I’m trying to condense my prep work as much as I can. I am almost starting to feel like I’m in a routine with things, but I do forget to soak things every now & then. 🙂

Three major fails this month…

1. My counter-top yogurt culture. I tried four different times & couldn’t get it to work. I think the temperature in my apartment is just too unstable, so I’m learning to make yogurt the stove-top-oven-light way. I have my first batch setting right now, so hopefully it will turn out well!

2. Kishk Granola. Way. Too. Crunchy. But I did discover that it makes great pancakes if I sift out the dried fruit & grind up the rest into flour.

3. Forgetting to order dried beans from Azure. Buying beans from the regular store is expensive!

Three major successes this month…

1. Creme Fraiche. O & I eat it plain, by the spoonful. 🙂 It is soooo good. I try to put it a little on almost every meal.

2. Water Kefir Soda. This is still a work in progress as I experiment with new recipes, but for now, we have a tasty sparkling apple soda that we love.

3. Trail Mix. The recipe for trail mix in Nourishing Traditions is amazing. I added 1/2 C dried coconut, but that was my only modification. It’s the perfect trail mix. We went through about 3 quarts of it in one month & that was with limiting portions. I made 4 quarts for June. Yummy!

Our Weekly Menu…

This week’s menu is a little crazy due to Monday’s holiday, an over abundance of random leftovers in my fridge, & menu changes. After talking with my hubby about what we liked & didn’t like about our monthly menu, we made the following changes…

-I took the soup recipes off the menu simply because it is too stinkin’ hot in our apartment to even think about eating soup.

-I replaced our Mexican Soup with a new recipe.

-I took the Lentils & Rice Casserole off our menu because we just didn’t care for it.

-I replaced the casserole with Grass-fed Hotdogs (yay Trader Joe’s!) on Sprouted Buns & Crockpot Corn on the Cob.

-I switched our dinner themes around a little & added a “Salad” night & a “Beans” night.

-I added Soaked German Pancakes for breakfast on the Wednesdays that I’m not doing laundry all day. H loves German Pancakes so much he actually talks about them in his sleep. 🙂

-I added Soaked Baked Oatmeal for our Sunday breakfast.

-I switched out Kishk Granola for Soaked Granola because the Kishk was just too crunchy for us.

[May-June 2011, Week 1]

{Breakfast} Soaked Baked Oatmeal, Breakfast Porridge*, Soaked Granola (recipe coming soon!) with Milk or Yogurt, & Breakfast Pastries*

{A.M. Snacks} PB Smoothies & Cultured Milk Smoothies*

{Lunches} PB & Raw Honey on Sprouted Bread, Carrot & Celery Sticks with Creme Fraiche* (I add the ranch dressing herbs from this recipe to make “Ranch Dip”), Apples & PB, Salmon Salad (with homemade Mayo*, so easy & tasty!) on Soaked Whole Wheat Crackers*

{P.M. Snacks} Popcorn* & Trail Mix*

{Sunday Dinner (yesterday)} Chili made with Grass-Fed Beef, topped with Creme Fraiche*, & Cornbread* on the side

{Monday Dinner} Lots of BBQ food with family

{Tuesday Dinner} Sloppy Lentils on Sprouted Buns with Sautéed Vegetables

{Wednesday Dinner} Leftovers

{Thursday Dinner} Salmon, Soaked Brown Rice* with Variety Salad*

{Friday Dinner} Eggplant Parmesan with High Enzyme Salad*

{Saturday Dinner} Pizza topped with Pastured Chicken, Artichokes, Olives, Bell Peppers,  & I’m using leftover Lentils & Rice Casserole, mixed with a little extra marinara sauce, for the pizza sauce; hopefully it will be yummy!

*recipes from Nourishing Traditions by Sally Fallon

{this post was transferred from my old blog, http://www.this-precious-life.com}

{& since I posted my menu so late, I’m also participating in..

Leave a Reply

