My {1st} Lacto-Fermented Recipe {nourishing traditions}

I have been patiently waiting for the tomato plants in my “patio garden” to ripen up their fruit so I could make this tasty sounding salsa recipe from  Nourishing Traditions. As soon as there were eight (tiny) tomatoes ripe & ready, I rushed to the farmer’s market for cilantro & jalapeno peppers. I had onions & garlic from Azure in my pantry & fresh squeezed lemon juice chilling (hehe) in my fridge. I also have a ridiculous amount of kefir right now (due to the heat…it makes it culture a lot faster) so I made whey several days ago. I chopped chopped chopped, then mashed mashed mashed, then screwed on a lid & set the jar in my pantry. Easy peasy. Two days later I popped the jar in my fridge & made egg burritos for dinner that night. The salsa was A-M-A-Z-I-N-G. I will (hopefully) never buy store bought stuff again! My hubby said…”This is the best egg burrito I have ever had” & told his brother it was “Out of this world.” I just love making my man good food that’s good for him. 😀

Lacto-Fermented Salsa Recipe

Yields one quart

4 medium tomatoes, peeled, seeded & diced (I used 8 small tomatoes)
2 small onions, finely chopped (I used 1 large onion)
3/4 cup chopped chile pepper, hot or mild (I used 4 jalapenos, seeded)
6-8 cloves garlic, peeled and minced (optional, I used 6 large cloves & thought it was perfectly garlicy)
1 bunch cilantro, chopped
1 t dried oregano
juice of 2 lemons (I used 1/4 C of my pre-made lemon juice)
1 T sea salt
4 T whey, if not available, use an additional 1 T sea salt (not recommended by most reviews I read online)
1/4 C filtered water (optional, in my opinion, my salsa turned out a little too watery)

Chop up all veggies & mix with remaining ingredients. Pour into a quart size jar & mash down the salsa with a meat pounder or large wooden spoon. Be sure there is at least one inch of space between the salsa & the top of the jar. Secure a lid tightly on the jar & leave out at room temperature for two days, then chill before eating. Lasts for up to 6 months in the fridge (or so I hear…I’m sure ours will be gone within a week or two!).

If you’re wondering what’s so great about Lacto-Fermentation, read this post to find out.

 {this post was transferred from my old blog, http://www.this-precious-life.com}
Leave a Reply

